2018 London Football Awards


Kane, Hodgson & Sessegnon triumph at the prestigious footballing event


Harry Kane and the EFL Clubs were triumphant at this year’s London Football Awards. Fulham’s teenage sensation Ryan Sessegnon scooped two awards, including Young Player of the Year. Brentford’s Daniel Bentley beat the Premier League’s ‘big guns’ to win a trophy on the night, while QPR’s community team received a standing ovation for their work on #Game4Grenfell. Man of the moment, Kane was awarded the much coveted 2018 Premier League Player of the Year award. The prestigious awards ceremony was hosted by BBC presenter, Mark Chapman at Battersea Evolution on March 1, 2018.


In its fourth year, the London Football Awards, sponsored by Toscafund, raises funds for former Arsenal goalkeeper and TV presenter, Bob Wilson OBE and his wife, Megs’ charity, Willow – the only national charity working with seriously ill young adults aged 16 to 40 to fulfil uplifting and unforgettable Special Days.


This year’s winner of the  Outstanding Contribution to London Football (sponsored by Weston Homes), was former West Ham United, Crystal Palace and Arsenal striker, Ian Wright MBE, who collected his Award from Mark Bright on the night.


“I came to the game late; I was 22 and retired when I was 36. I’m now 54 and it’s taken me this long to win an award! Seriously though, this London Football Award, which comes from Bob Wilson’s charity, Willow, means more to me than anything in the world.”


He then gave special thanks to his former Crystal Palace team mate, Mark Bright, saying: “I remember when I came in as a Sunday morning player; it was Mark Bright who taught me how to be a professional. I am up here simply because of the guiding light that Mark has been on my football career and he has to get some credit for that.”


Winners of the Awards, plus all nominees and presenters were:


Premier League Player of the Year

(sponsored by Toscafund)

Winner – Harry Kane – Tottenham Hotspur

Presented by Gary Mabbutt


César Azpilicueta – Chelsea

Christian Eriksen – Tottenham Hotspur

Heung-Min Son – Tottenham Hotspur

Wilfried Zaha – Crystal Palace

Manager of the Year

(sponsored by Football Manager)

Winner – Roy Hodgson – Crystal Palace

Presented by Lennie Lawrence


Emma Hayes – Chelsea Ladies

Slaviša Jokanović – Fulham

Neil Harris – Millwall

Mauricio Pochettino – Tottenham Hotspur


EFL Player of the Year

(sponsored by Corney & Barrow)

Winner – Ryan Sessegnon – Fulham

Presented by Bobby Zamora


Josh Clarke – Brentford

George Saville – Millwall

Romaine Sawyers – Brentford

Alex Smithies – Queens Park Rangers


Goalkeeper of the Year

(sponsored by Frogmore)

Winner – Daniel Bentley – Brentford

Presented by Bob Wilson OBE


Adrián – West Ham United

Thibaut Courtois – Chelsea

Heurelho Gomes – Watford

Hugo Lloris – Tottenham Hotspur


Women’s Player of the Year

(sponsored by Coutts)

Winner – Jordan Nobbs – Arsenal Women

Presented by Kelly Smith MBE


Millie Bright – Chelsea Ladies

Danielle Carter – Arsenal Women

Katie Chapman – Chelsea Ladies

Fran Kirby – Chelsea Ladies


Young Player of the Year (under-23)

(sponsored by Zeus)

Winner – Ryan Sessegnon – Fulham

Presented by Sol Campbell


Andreas Christensen – Chelsea

Ainsley Maitland-Niles – Arsenal

Davinson Sánchez – Tottenham Hotspur

Harry Winks – Tottenham Hotspur


Community Project of the Year

(sponsored by the FA)

Winner – QPR in the Community Trust – #Game4Grenfell

Presented by David Seaman MBE and Danny Jones

Runners up:

AFC Wimbledon Foundation – AFC Wimbledon Women and Girls

Brentford Community Sports Trust – The Fearless Foundation’s Journalism Project


Along with Ian Wright, other nominees and winners attended the 2018 ceremony, including: Ryan Sessegnon, Roy Hodgson, Daniel Bentley, Jordan Nobbs, Slaviša Jokanović, Josh Clarke and Romaine Sawyers.


Other current and former players who attended the 2018 London Football Awards include: AFC Wimbledon: Dave Beasant, Lawrie Sanchez; Arsenal: Sol Campbell, Jordan Nobbs, David Seaman, Alan Smith, Kelly Smith, Bob Wilson, Ian Wright, Rachel Yankey; Brentford: Josh Clarke, Romaine Sawyers, Daniel Bentley; Chelsea: Paul Elliott, John Hollins, Ray Wilkins; Crystal Palace: Mark Bright QPR: Les Ferdinand, Andy Sinton. Bobby Zamora; Spurs: Jenna Schillachi, Martin Chivers, Cliff Jones, Gary Mabbutt; West Ham: David Moyes; and Kelly Simmons.


Willow Life President Bob Wilson, said: “Once again this season, football in London – in the Premier League, the Football League and the Women’s game – has been dramatic and exciting. The London Football Awards is a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the skills of our nominees, which we have seen on the pitches of the Capital over the last few months, as well as all the outstanding community work achieved by the clubs.”


Nominees and winners of the awards are selected by an expert judging panel from the worlds of football and media, from former players to major footballing bodies, and sports media, including Sky Sports, BBC, The Telegraph, Evening Standard and talkSPORT.


For more information visit www.londonfootballawards.org or telephone Willow on 01707 259777.


For more information about Willow visit www.willowfoundation.org.uk

About author